Bed Bath & Beyond Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Bed Bath & Beyond
Shop VACUUMS or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Dyson Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bed Bath & Beyond.

Dyson Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum

Dyson DC33 multi-floor vacuum is an upright for multiple floor types - carpet, ceramic, vinyl, wood - with a click-fit 16-foot Telescope Reach" wand and lifetime washable HEPA filter. Like most Dyson vacuums, the DC33 features Root Cyclone" technology for extremely thorough cleaning and a lightweight and tough, durable construction that is perfect for homes with more than one story. The brush bar cleans carpets thoroughly without wearing your carpets down. Its hygenic clear bin is easy to empty and takes away the added cost of having to use bags. Includes combination brush/crevice tool, stair tool and on-board tool storage to keep all the additions tidy. 11 Amps. UL and ETL listed. Measures 39 3/4" H x 14" W x 13 3/4" D. Weighs 16.7 pounds. Five-year manufacturer's warranty. Model# DC33
Overall rating:
4.469 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(635 reviews) 603
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 635 reviews
5 Stars
437
4 Stars
121
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
34
1 Star
14
89%would recommend this product to a friend(568 out of 635)
Customer reviews for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Review 1 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for plush/thick carpet

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMichigan
We have brand new (plush/thick) carpet in a relatively small apartment. We also have tile and hardwood, so I thought the Dyson multi-floor would be the perfect solution. I had tried a Shark model first that absolutely bogged down in my carpet, so I bit the bullet for the price of the Dyson, only to find...THE SAME THING.
Both units performed well on the hard-surface floors, but both completely bogged down in the carpet. They made a sound like they had sucked up a sock (when they had simply completely sucked up the carpet pile) and refused to move an inch until turned off.
We took a video of the way it bogged down and trekked to the Oreck store. The rep there quickly said we needed a different kind of vac for plush/thick carpet. Left with an Oreck Magnesium and assurances that we could easily return if we weren't happy. The rep was certain we wouldn't return it, though, and he was right!! I don't think I've ever loved a vacuum so much. It's lightweight, easy to maneuver, has a super-long cord, is easy to push across the carpet, and does a great job removing dust & debris.
Skip the Dyson marketing hype and pretty design, and opt instead for the actual FUNCTION and quality of Oreck.
**I should note that BB&B was absolutely lovely about returning both the Shark and Dyson models that did not work for me. Hassle-free ease of returns is one reason I'm a devoted BB&B shopper. Their vacuums just weren't right for us.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great vaccum

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer avatar
fromatlanta ga
really like it a lot ....except the extension (as far as getting it out and using it) is a little awkward??...but love it anyways
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dyson vaccums

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSan Diego, Ca
I have owned a DC33 for 5 years. I love it. It has the button for hard surfaces, love how easy it is to pull hose out, lite enough to easily carry up stairs. The stair attachment is great. Alot of vaccums have a black hose and leave marks on walls not this one. I would recommend this to a friend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but Noisy

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
fromGreenville, SC
I've had this vacuum for 8 months, and it cleans really great. I really love the cleaning and suction it has, I feel the house is very clean after using it. But, I have the noise problem with the beater brush hitting the casing and it's really loud. My husband hates the noise, therefore, hates the vacuum. I just tolerate the noise for the results. It is really loud when it happens. I would probably pay more for the higher in models if I had known this problem is inheritant to this model.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dyson Customer Service, try it

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
This is in response to the person who posted at the end of December 2012 who was very disappointed in the Dyson because it wasn't working efficiently after a year. I would recommend calling Dyson customer support. Their products come with a 5 year warranty and they are extremely helpful at troubleshooting.
If phone support doesn't work they repair or replace totally at their expense. Their customer service department is stellar.....best I've ever worked with. Give it a try before you give up on these machines. They're quite superior!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
fromArdmore, OK
This vacuum is NOT worth the money! It is so bulky and heavy. We have wood floors and carpet. I felt like I was pushing a train when I was vacuuming the carpet. The front is soo top heavy. I felt like I was ruining my carpet when I vacuumed it. Pay the extra money and get the DC40 or the DC41. I had vacuumed our carpet with this DC33 twice before deciding that I had spent too much money on it hate it and take it back. we went back and exchanged and paid differnece for the DC40. The DC40 picked up almost half a canister full of debris that the DC33 didi not even get. Don't waste your time or money on this vacuum. It is beyond disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst purchase ever

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTexas
I purchased a dyson a year ago. At first I loved it. It has great suction and it's very easy to clean but the beater bar quit working. I've taken it apart, cleaned it, cleaned the filters but it will not work at all. I expected a lot more from this vacuum since it's so expensive. I am very disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dyson DC33

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
fromHouston TX
This is the third Dyson I have purchased. I bought it as a gift for someone. I own one of these as well as the canister type Dyson. Not being an idiot, I'm able to use all the attachments without any real trouble. My Kirby died a couple of years ago, not bad after 18 years. So far I'm happier with this vacuum than the previous one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTexas
I'm very disappointed in this contraption, as well as myself for buying into the Dyson hype. I hate to say it, but this is possibly the worse vacuum cleaner I"ve ever bought. It lost suction within a couple of months. I've cleaned the filters, taken it apart to make sure nothing is clogging the hoses, emptied it when it has a fraction of dust in it, even thoroughtly cleaned the beater bar with tweezers and scissors. My old, worn-out, 15 year old Hoover had much better suction. The Dyson leaves dust, dirt, lint, glitter, hair, whatever, making it look like I didn't even vaccuum unless I go over and over and over it, and even then it's pretty "iffy." I bought it to save time cleaning, but instead find I spend MORE time because I'm re-vacuuming again and again. When I replace it, it definitely will not be with another Dyson. This one has made me a bit shy of the brand.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wouldn't buy again

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromHenderson, CO
My old vacuum finally died and I succombed to the hype from my family. I've been using this for 6 months now and my biggest complaints:
1) Vacuum design doesn't allow you to get underneath bottom edge of cabinets and the vacuum strength won't suck up things outside the edges. I have to use attachments to get underneath kitchen & bathroom cabinets.
2) You can't use the attachments without removing the power cord from the holder. Sometimes I just need to get something quick (broken glass) and would like to use attachments without completely unwinding the cord.
3) My other vacuum was self propelled. This one isn't. Most of the time, it isn't that big of a deal, but I was vacuuming a large throw rug on the "bare floor setting" and could barely get it to move across the rug.
4) It doesn't pick up things that I think it should pick up. Dyson was brilliant in making the container clear so you THINK it's picking up a lot of dirt, but why does it leave lint on the carpet?
Thought I would really like this, but I won't buy another one.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

FAIL!!! Overpriced piece of plastic!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWashington, D.C.
As a loyal Dyson consumer, when my Dyson Animal Upright vacuum, eh hem, LOST SUCTION after almost 5 years, I ran to Bed Bath and Beyond to replace it. I have 2 long haired cats and severe allergies so my health depends on my Dyson. I researched all the models and decided to purchase the Dyson DC33 thinking the higher amperage meant it would obliterate my cat hair AND it was about $150 less so I bought it. UGH. Not only does the DC33 not clean as effectively as my Dyson Animal, it’s so cheaply made its embarrassing and puts me to tears knowing how much money I wasted on this vacuum. I didn't save the box since I have so much faith in Dyson products so I can't return it to the store so I am stuck with an overpriced piece of plastic. The "telescope reach" tool is a joke. The hard wand piece bends/flexes as you vacuum as though it is about to break into two pieces and if you move the wand too far away, the vacuum retracts and smacks me in the foot/legs. Trying to save my money so I can buy the new Dyson canister asap! Lesson learned, you get what you pay for :( .
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Vacuum

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh, PA
Just purchased the Dyson DC33 after our old Hoover Wind Tunnel went belly up. On the advice of a friend, we bought the Dyson and used it the first night we bought it. Vacuumed two rooms and were surprised at the amount of dirt and pet hair it picked up after the carpet was recently vacuumed with the Hoover. Great weight for carrying up/down steps, quiet operation, easy to empty dust cup, and a cord that is a perfect length for our townhouse. Also, we liked the idea of a five year warranty, and the store it was purchased from is great on returns. Definitely recommend this vacuum to anyone thinking about purchasing a new one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

dyson DC33 okay

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
fromMechanicsburg, PA
Having purchased as a replacment for my 4 year old DC33 I have to say it is not quite as well made. It works great and they have added some features, such as washable filters at the bottom and a button to help the wand go back into the hose better, but the overall construction does not feel as sturdy as the old model. Still one of the best vacuum cleaners I have ever used and only purchased a new one since they were on sale so I could give my son the old one (which still works great after 4 years, 2 large shedding dogs, and 2 cats).
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Vacuum ever made

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
fromCanada
I don't own a Dyson, but I do have family members that do & they tell everyone 'Dyson' is the way to go, in buying a vacuum. I used it, when they bought a new house & now I'm hooked!! The Dyson picked up the littlest items that mine would never have. You can see were you have Vacuumed & as for any other vacuum you really don't see that, & you go over the same spot over & over again, because you can'r remember if you did that spot before of not. So if you want the best in vacuums then buy a DYSON!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

From the owner of 2 dogs, this vacuum is AMAZING!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
fromHouston, TX
We knew that our Bissell had been under-performing for some time. We also knew that for a year we had suffered non-stop sinus problems, and had a good idea that our two mutts were largely contributing to our stuffy noses, headaches and allergy misery. We crunched the numbers and realized that the Bissell had lasted, at most, four years. And not four good years. Why not go spend a small fortune on a supposedly superb vacuum? Maybe it'll be worth it. Day 1 of cleaning with the Dyson and our allergies have subsided! No more sinus headaches, and our carpet looks brand new. The only negative side effect of this Dyson is that it will turn you into a clean freak. Notice the dog fur collecting after a couple days? You'll find it impossible to ignore the urge to vacuum. Oh, and save yourself the extra $300 on the pet models. This is tackling our dog fur issues with ease, and we have pretty fluffy mutts.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Dyson!! (or vacuum--period)

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer avatar
fromDenver
I absolutly love my Dyson!! I have the previous version to this model (a little less than a decade older) and have loved it. Over the last 9 or so years (I think) I have never had any problems. I bought the replacement parts for it about three years ago and replaced the filter, fittings, and the hose that was cracked at the end after being stepped on and it works great. Moving to a new house I decided to update and this new version is EVEN better!! It gets everything--pet hair, dust, spiderwebs, behind and under furniture with the attachments, it even cleans the car! I love it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor suction power. We returned it.

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Customer avatar
fromPhoenix, AZ
We bought this vacuum to replace a Bissell that we've had for three months. We spent $99 on the Bissell, hated it, and decided to spend more in hopes of greater quality. Admittedly being a little smitten by Dyson's marketing, we thought the Dyson 33 would be the end-all/be-all of vacuums. It was easy to put together, is easy to maneuver, has exceptional cord reach, and the wand/hose extension make it very easy to access hard-to-reach places. However, I found the suction power to be meager at best. For the price of this vacuum, I expected far more.
We have saltillo tile floors with a few low-pile area rugs, and it took multiple attempts to get this vacuum to pick up the smallest of particles (dust bunnies, flecks of lint, small dried leaves from the houseplant). The hose attachment (despite its length) is virtually worthless because the suction power is so poor. We had to swipe one area of dust bunnies in the corner about 5 times before it grabbed anything. We even stopped to check all the fittings, re-read directions and be sure we put this together properly. It just has really poor suction. Also, the front of the vacuum (around the beater brush) rides so close to the floor that it acts like a bulldozer pushing dust/dirt forward rather than actually sucking it in. I find that to be a huge design flaw.
Perhaps this is a "low-end" model for Dyson, but it is certainly a mismatch on price for the actual performance you receive.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great suction but returned the vacuum

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Customer avatar
fromConnecticut
I really wanted to like this vacuum. Unfortunately, I ended up returning it after using it for 1 month. The vacuum works great on wall to wall carpeting and bare floors. However, if you have area rugs (my area rug is on my wood floor and is 8 X 12. I'm not talking about small area rugs) or rugs with a low pile this vacuum will ruin them. If you use the beater brush on them, it tears up the carpet fibers and you will find them in your dust bin as proof. I contacted Dyson and told them this and they said I should not use the beater brush on area rugs or low pile carpeting. So, I turned it to the floor setting but it did not pick up much on the carpet. In my opinion, this vacuum needs a carpet height adjustment feature.
The other thing that I hated about this vacuum was the tool function. It has to be the most user unfriendly piece of equipment I've ever seen. It is very difficult to use, the hose is very stiff and you have to pull the entire bar out in order to use it. I can't imagine the designer ever really quality tested this piece of the vacuum. If you use tools a lot like I do, this is not the vacuum for you.
If you have all wall to wall carpeting, bare floors and don't need tools, this is a great vacuum. It has the most suction I've ever seen and it will get up just about anything in its path. However, it needs some work in order to make it more user friendly and to be able to vacuum area rugs.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more back pains

PostedJune 28, 2011
Customer avatar
fromPocatello, ID
I absolutely love this vacuum. I have only had it a week now and have vacuumed almost everyday! I was originally looking at buying the DC24 Ultra Light Weight Ball but decided on this one because the suction power is double, the cord is longer and it is still light enough. I'm 9 months pregnant and for the past 3 or 4 months it has been miserable vacuuming because for the rest of the day my back would be out from my old vacuum being so heavy. The Dyson is nothing like that. It is so easy to push and to even prop it back on it's two wheels to take it somewhere is unbelievably easy. I could go on, but there are to many great reviews to pass this vacuum up.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Vacuum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A must in my home

PostedJune 25, 2011
Customer avatar
After reading a TON of reviews of every brand/type of vacuum, I finally settled on the DC33 Dyson. I previously owned a vacuum specifically for pets, and while I thought it was working adequately, after using this Dyson I am thoroughly disgusted with what my vacuum was leaving behind. I opened this product last night and vacuumed my whole house with it... holy cow! I just vacuumed the night before with my old vacuum and still I had to empty the dyson twice in one room. It picked up dirt and pet hair. I have 2 large shedding dogs and i need a lot of power to get my carpets clean, this Dyson did the trick.
Pros-
-Awesome suction power,
-easy to assemble
-really light compared to my other vacuums
-easy to clean out canister leaving behind no dirt all over my vacuum like my old canister.
-great hose suction
-no repalcement filters/bags
- long power cord means no unplugging to vacuum a few different rooms
Cons-
- a bit expensive (definitly worth it but costly none the less)
- the wand is a big cumbersome with a long straight nozzle thats hard to get around corners, but it keeps you from climbing stairs to clean them, attachements are great though.
-hose itself is a bit stiff which im sure will get better with time.
-smaller canister means emptying it more than my old vacuum.
-doesnt reach under furniiture (but what upright does anyway?)
Because of the wand issue I gave this product 4 instead of 5 stars but i'm happy to deal with that because ultimately my carpets and floors are a 100x cleaner with this vacuum and with my 1 year old always on the floor thats what matters most to me. I definitly love this product and recommend it to anyone. If my opinion changes over time i'd be surprised and i'll re-review this item.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>