Bed Bath & Beyond Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Bed Bath & Beyond
Shop HUMIDIFIERS or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Vornado Vornado® Ultrasonic Humidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bed Bath & Beyond.

Vornado Vornado® Ultrasonic Humidifier

This efficient humidifier uses Vornado's signature Vortex Technology for maximum output and improved humidity distribution throughout 900 square feet of living space. Whisper quiet, this also features easy push button settings for humidity level and fan speed, cool or warm mist operation and an electronic humidistat to monitor the humidity level. Tanks hold 2 gallons and outputs up to 3.5 gallons a day. Digital LCD display provides automatic reminders. Five-year warranty. ETL listed. Model # HU1-0022-06.
Overall rating:
2.625 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
38%would recommend this product to a friend(3 out of 8)
Customer reviews for Vornado® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Review 1 for Vornado® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Cats with Asthma!

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
This humidifier does wonders for my cat's asthma. The winter air gets really dry and this does the trick!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vornado® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flooded my wood floors

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL
This product flooded my wood floors in the middle of the night. I absolutely do not recommend it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vornado® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Humidifier!

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNY, NY
Really pushes the moisture out into the room as opposed to other models where it just falls right down the the floor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vornado® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

yes, but it's still worth owning this unit

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
fromNew York
It's true, the humidistat on this unit is not accurate, as other reviewers have noted. Nonetheless, I own one of these units, and I'm about to buy another. My bedroom has a cathedral ceiling in it, with all that space there are not many humidifiers that will make the room comfortable for my wife in winter. She get's nosebleeds from the dry air. She doesn't anymore!
We've been through 10 brands of humidifier through the years. This one is the best yet, by far. It is totally effective at humidifying a large space. Its water jug is big, 2 gallons, but not so big you can't carry it. The other big humidifiers on the market are enormous -- they are pieces of furniture and are typically mocked up with faux wood facing to look like furniture.
This Vornado is a perfect size. You can set it anywhere between 40 and 60% humidity. You can set it for warm air or cold. You can also set it to continuous operation and it will just about humidify the whole house. This is big performance from a very reasonable size unit.
No humidistat located on a humidifier will be accurate. The humidity near the unit will always be higher than the rest of the room. This is a problem with every unit I have had.
Also, humidity sensing is a touchy thing, there are many different technologies for sensing humidity, I deal with a number of them at my plant. A calibrated humidity meter is also typically wrong, it's just wrong by a consistent margin.
As for the white dust, the filter is supposed to help with that. There are screw on filters for your tap that will certainly help with that.
Buy this unit if you can't get other humifiers to put out enough water to make you comfortable. My original Vornado is now in the mountains, where the wood stove drys the air out like nobody's business. The new unit will go back in the tall bedroom.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vornado® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great product, BUT humidity levels incorrect

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
fromKansas City, MO
The humidifier is the best I've ever come across. It's very durable and circulates the air to create even humidity within the room.
Unfortunately the humidity sensors on 5 units that I compared were 15-20% higher humidity readings than a calibrated hygrometer (humidity sensor). This causes a problem because the humidity levels it will maintain, if not it is not set to be full-ON, would be between 25%-40% rather than an ideal 40-60%.
I contacted Vornado customer support regarding this issue and they said they had no way to calibrate the humidifier and that the "Ultra Sonic Humidistat is not accurate which is why it is higher than the hygrometer. I'm sorry for the inconvenience."
As a consumer who regards Vornado products as elite, I am disappointed by the product and response.
I decided to find another humidifier regardless of its unique and effective circulation.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vornado® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Less than satifying

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Customer avatar
fromSilver Spring, MD
I spent most of the winter season comparing humidifyers. I wanted a warm air one, but this seemed the best of both. After getting a servere sinus infection, I decide to stop comparing and just invest in one. I set this machine up and by the next day the furniture was covered with a white powder. I re-read the instructions and realized I had not soaked the filter long enough. Soaked the filter as recommended (even longer than recommended), emptied the tank, refilled it, again using filtered water, yet the machine continued to produce the fine white powder typically associated with a cool air humidifier, even when it is set on warm air. Would not recommend the product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vornado® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

More White Dust

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Customer avatar
fromMaryland
I did my homework in looking for a new humidifier. I was tired of replacing the filters on the old one every couple of weeks at $10 a pop. This one got good ratings, has excellent output, is quiet, stylish, etc. I downplayed the dust mentioned by a couple others because our well water is so good we stopped using our distiller. But after 2 days, EVERY SURFACE IN THE HOUSE IS COVERED IN VERY FINE DUST! It's like a big bottle of baby powder exploded. To add insult, we had just paid hansomely to have the whole house cleaned. It goes back tomorrow.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vornado® Ultrasonic Humidifier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer avatar
fromKC, MO
The humidistat on this product said my room was at 37% humidity straight from the box (seemed a little high to me). It never changed after running it several days although it seemed to be running ok. I called tech support and couldn't be more disappointed. They said its normal for the humidistat to be off up to 12% and that no humidifier humidistats are accurate.. I asked how does the unit know when to shut off? Couldn't it cause damage if it runs too long? Yup. So if I exchange it for a different one I should expect the same problem. Yup. I told him I expected more from a $180 humidifier....and he agreed! I appreciated the honesty but what a waste of money. I will be returning it shortly. BTW, I called tech support twice, waited in que with 6 persons ahead of me for about a half hour for this response.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.